Good times with potty training

January 26, 2010 at 8:15 pm (Junior)

If you have kids, you get this… If not, I’m sorry.  I give you permission to fine me one cookie for every cute toilet word I use.

Junior is only two (25 months to be exact!), so I know we’re on the early side, but since he’s been showing interest in the potty, we’re giving it a go.  I swear this kid is messing with me.  In that little toddler mind of his, he has a plan.  I’m sure of it.  I know he can do it.  For two days, almost every potty activity was a success.  Then he was over it.  For the last week, I’ve had to sweet talk him in to putting his little buns on the cold plastic potty.  When he finally caves, he pees right away.

Today, he sat and peed quickly.  Just a tiny bit, but we danced around like fools anyway and JR was grinning ear to ear.  After the mommy-duties of cleaning the foul excrement catching bowl (oh, how I loathe that job!), I drop it back in it’s place.  He plops his sweet cheeks back down and does it again.  The potty dance and cleanup cycle begins again, maybe just a touch less joyfully this time.  Then, he does it again!  That’s awesome Kid; I’m thrilled, but next time, how about all in one shot, huh?

Don’t get me wrong, every cleaning of that potty is one step closer to being rid of diapers.  I dream of that day.  But, clearly, the kid knows what he’s doing.  He’s totally messing with me.  He can control it.  I’m not sure if he just likes seeing me do that awesome “Pee-pee in the Potty” dance or if it’s the lovely look on my face while I clean out the bowl, but I’m thinking he’s trying to keep this going as long as he can.  I guess he could just be excited about the new form of praise.  Or he could be an evil genius toddler with devious plans for controlling the world’s every move and he’s just starting with his dear,sweet mother.

1 Comment

  1. Carrie said,

    This made me laugh. I look forward to the days of no diapers too but dread the potty training.

Leave a Reply

