Money makes the world go ’round…

January 26, 2010 at 4:29 am (Random rantings)

Money makes the world go around
The world go around
The world go around
Money makes the world go around
It makes the world go ’round.

A mark, a yen, a buck, or a pound
A buck or a pound
A buck or a pound
Is all that makes the world go around,
That clinking clanking sound
Can make the world go ’round.

Lately, I’ve had the lyrics of  “Money” from Cabaret stuck in my head.  Maybe it’s because I don’t have any.  It’s days like these that I feel so pathetic.  With what Hubs was making on unemployment and my income, we’re not that poor on paper and his paychecks from his new job won’t be any better.  But then you take away rent, car payment, student loan, credit card payments and there’s nearly nothing left.  We’ve been lucky enough to scrape by; nothing has had to be paid on credit cards or anything, but it sure would be nice to have two dimes to rub together at the end of the week.  We cut off cable, don’t go out to eat, cut back our cell phone plan and it hasn’t seemed to help a bit.

The pathetic part comes in here: I really need to go bra shopping and I can’t.  I have one of those lovely bra sizes that you can’t find in 99% of stores and I’m not exaggerating.  I have found 2 brick-and-mortar stores that carry my size.  The last time I bought regular bras was 3 years ago and spent $85 a piece on three. I have two left.  One of them stabs me in the right armpit every time I wear it; the other is ripping down the front.  I’ve done what I can sewing them back together, but it’s quickly becoming a lost cause.  When they finally concede the fight, my 34I’s are not going to look cute hanging down to my waist while I search couch cushions for enough change to buy new ones.  For one year of that time I was wearing nursing bras that didn’t fit well when they were new.  Maybe bra burning will come into fashion again…

3 Comments

  1. Carrie said,

    I can’t find my size in stores either, but it’s because of the opposite problem. I’m a barely A. 🙂

  2. Sara said,

    My favorite website for big boobies (I’m now in that category, since having Mabel and jumping up SIX sizes) is called Bravissimo. It’s British company and it’s supremely awesome. They sell swimsuits and stuff too by bra size. Check it out!

  3. Mom said,

    There’s a place I love in Tacoma that I started going to when I was buying nursing bras. They have a great selection and awesome staff. The prices are reasonable compared to where I used to buy bras, but it makes me miss the days of being able to swing through any bra department and pick out anything cute. Ugh… I’m tired of wearing armor and calling it a bra.

Leave a Reply

