Oh, he’s such a two-year-old!

January 27, 2010 at 9:31 pm (Junior)

There are days when Junior is the sweetest, happiest, most perfect kid in the world.  Then there are days like today.  Today, I wonder if he’s that beautiful baby I gave birth to or if he was switched out with some sort of evil twin.  Aside from the fact that he decided to grace me with a tirade of  “mommy, mommy, mommy, up, up, mommy, mommy…” earlier than usual toady, we started the day in a generally good mood.  We caught the end of Sesame Street (which is just called Elmo in his world) and Curious George while I fueled up on some coffee.

I poured him a bowl of cereal for breakfast.  Denied.  Total no-go.  He ate a couple of bites and announced that he was “all done!”  He sprinted to the kitchen counter and pointed out a banana and asked for help.  He signs “help” very well, which is a good thing, because if he wasn’t signing it, I would have no idea what “hupa” meant (of course sometimes it also means please in Junior-ese).  So being the strong willed, never-takes-no-for-an-answer, because-I-said-so mom that I am, I gave him a banana for breakfast.  Hey, it could have been worse.  It’s not like there wasn’t sugar in that cereal anyway.  I opened the fridge for whatever reason and he saw it.  The snack that can’t be resisted.  I’m sure to him, that glass jar was glowing with an aura that would have made a movie producer proud.  I think I even heard angels singing.  “HUPA!”  Seriously?  A pickle for breakfast?  Whatever.  Yeah, my kid had a banana and a pickle for breakfast.  He survived.  That was a battle I was willing to let go.  There were others to come.

The rest of the morning was filled with whining, pouting and grumpiness; and it wasn’t all from me.  Out of nowhere today, he’s decided he’s obsessed with every button he can find (and he was pushing mine all morning!).  The TV, the DVD player, the computer, the video games.  Argh… and thank goodness I have slipcovers on my couches.  As much as I love his artwork, Red Crayon on Tan Slipcover isn’t one of my favorites.  He refused to sit on the potty today.  He did, however, sit on the floor naked, next to the potty for about 10 minutes.

He’s napping now.  Cross you fingers for me that when I’m called to get him up the good twin is back.

Leave a Reply

