Decorating…

February 1, 2010 at 7:20 am (Junior)

I really want to decorate Junior’s room.  When he was born, we lived in a one bedroom apartment, so there wasn’t a room to decorate for him.  When we moved to the house we’re in now, it was kind of a quick move and we just never found the time.  Then Hubs lost his job and there wasn’t money for the project.  I’m really hoping that with his new job there will be a little bit of extra money around to finally do something with JR’s room.  I feel kinda bad that he’s two now and his entire room consists of his bed, a rocking chair that’s usually covered with a never-ending pile of junk and his toy kitchen.  The walls are stark white and his blinds are an enthralling shade of cream.  Our landlord is awesome and perfectly fine with us painting the walls in subtle colors, so I’m thinking of a subtle paint color and some bright accessories, but where do I begin?

A super theme-y room maybe?  Or just a couple of bold colors?  I don’t know.  He’s not REALLY into anything but Curious George and what if I do his whole room in “Georgie” and next week, he’s not cool anymore.  Plus, I’m too frugal (read “CHEAP”) to spend that kind of money on commercial bedding sets; I’ll just make them myself and George fabric is hard to come by.

I doubt he’ll care or even notice what I do to his room, but it’s actually kind of stressing me out a bit.  I’m a total perfectionist, so I want to do it once and do it perfect.  I don’t want to feel like I need to do it again next year because I didn’t do it right the first time.  I think this has really been on my mind because we’ve been talking about adding to the brood.  I want JR’s room to be perfect before we do a nursery.  I’m sure he wouldn’t even notice, but I would feel like a total jerk for doing his unborn sibling’s bedroom before his.  Once again, I’m stressing out over nothing.  He probably doesn’t care at all what his bedroom looks like anyway.  Especially considering that he hardly spends any of his waking hours in there…  Maybe I’ll just paint it all black…

2 Comments

  1. Lovely said,

    I am so crackin up! You’re so adorable too. Well your right that he wouldn’t care, just keep it simple. Basic colors, then accessorize with the things he likes now. That way you can easily can swap them out. If its Curious George, make a throw blanket, or pillow, and try Wal-mart for some basic storage solutions. I found some wall decals at the dollar tree, they work so well for basic rooms. This last year is the first time i’ve been able to do something with the kids’ rooms. Don’t feel too rushed. I did a mix of things. Jax likes sports so i was able to find wall decals, and a cute baseball shelf, then bought a solid comforter on sale in his fav color. He wants to pant his room red, lol! I’m not sure that we’ll go that far! Hope that helps start the process. Amazon has also got some good deals on room decor. You’ve got plenty of time. But i know how you feel about decorating a new room, before you can get his done.

    • Mom said,

      I’m so glad we didn’t go with the Curious George theme… He’s so over that! LOL!

Leave a Reply

