What are we getting into?

March 11, 2010 at 8:44 pm (Baby making)

Junior was a surprise.  Well, lets be honest; when you’re not using any protection, it’s not really that much of a surprise.  He wasn’t exactly planned.  We’ve been talking about expanding our family for a while now and with Hubs’ lack of work, that’s been out of the picture.  Hubs has been back to work for a while and we decided to “pull the goalie”.  I’m having my IUD taken out on Monday.

Now the craziness begins.  In Mommyland there’s lots of ways to go about trying to conceive (TTC).

  • NTNP, or Not Trying Not Preventing, which is basically what a lot of women call it when they want a baby and their partner doesn’t, or they don’t have the balls to tell their partner that they want to try for a baby.
  • “Casually trying”; Mom and Dad are on the same boat, but the science is left out.  There’s no calender, no timing per se; just good, old fashioned baby dancing (or BDing, because of course this has a nickname too!).
  • The hardcore TTCers.  They’ve got this down to an art.  Did you know you can buy things to pee on that will tell you if you’re about to ovulate (assuming you’re a woman!)?  And if you take your temperature at the exact same time every morning before you so much as blink, you can tell if you’ve already ovulated?  Timing, positions, diet, vaginal ph and the color of your panties can all affect the gender of the not-yet-conceived child.  Ok, I made up the panties part…  Not all the women that use some of these techniques are super hard core, but you better believe there’s a ton of websites out there for charting fertility and they’re full of these ladies.
  • Of course there’s TTCMA (that’s trying to conceive with medical assistance in Mommyland).  This is a whole other group.  These ladies have struggled to have babies and have turned to the help of doctors to figure out what’s wrong and how to fix it.  My heart breaks for these women.  I love being a mommy and can’t imagine the pain these women go through to keep coming up a day late and a dollar short.

I guess we’ll fall into the casually trying category for now.  At some point I might start tracking my cycles if things take a while, but I want to enjoy it.  I want to obsess over things without a website telling me we BDed on the right day or we didn’t.  I’m actually looking forward to spending a year’s pay on pregnancy tests.  I’ll probably POAS (pee on a stick, which is code word for taking a home pregnancy test which is also known as an HPT) just about every day.

This will be a very different experience than when I found out I was pregnant with Junior.  I was 5 days late already.  I knew I was pregnant.  I bought one test (the awesome digital kind that say “pregnant” or “not pregnant” right on the screen).  I peed on it and didn’t even look at it.  I set it down, pulled up my pants, flushed the toilet and washed my hands before I looked at it again and “PREGNANT” was there.  I expected to freak out and didn’t.  It was more of an oh, ok, we’re having a baby. At least until it all sunk in.  I can’t wait for the excitement and anticipation this time.  I’ll do my best to keep you all updated so you can obsess with me!

1 Comment

  1. lovely said,

    So happy for you two! What an exciting adventure! Cannot wait to hear all the updates! Well wishes for you both. Yay for Junior!!!

Leave a Reply

