Playgroup

June 21, 2010 at 9:23 pm (Random rantings)

A while ago, Junior and I (well, mostly just me!) were going stir-crazy in the house every day.  We needed to get out and do stuff once in a while.  And I need time with grownups that isn’t at work.  I found a moms group on meetup.com and it’s awesome.  I get some serious anxiety when I meet new people.  The first few meetups I went to, I was freaked out.  I was totally sure everybody would hate me.  I just decided to go and enjoy it.  More than anything, I wanted Junior to have fun and meet friends.  So, I put on my big girl panties and went.

These girls are awesome.  They welcomed me with open arms and most of all, they love Junior.  He loves to play with the other kids and that’s something he doesn’t get at home.  After only being a member of the group for a few months, they’ve asked me to be an event organizer.  I was honored for women I hardly know to trust me enough to organize events at my own will, for them to want to come to events I host, for them to want to learn things from me.  It reminded me that I’m not so bad.

Leave a Reply

