Kim Kardashian’s Breastfeeding Tweet

June 22, 2010 at 4:19 am (Random rantings)

I’m usually not one for following celebrity nonsense, especially people who are celebrities just for being celebrities.  This story really caught my attention and I can’t help but not comment on it.  Kim Kardashian (who’s sister has a baby boy she BF’s) made a comment on her Twitter that blew me away…

“EWW Im at lunch,the woman at the table next 2 me is breast feeding her baby w no coverup then puts baby on the table and changes her diaper”

This is a woman who poses provocatively for photos, including a nude pictorial in Playboy.  She’s ok with her breasts being exposed in a sexual fashion, but not for breastfeeding, which, of course, is what they’re intended for.  I’m a big breasted woman, and when I BF’ed Junior, less of my breasts were exposed then if I wore a skimpy bikini (which I could buy at any store and nobody would stop me for that).

I know that not everybody is comfortable with women nursing in public, but I’ve never said anything to a woman formula feeding her baby.  I would love for every baby to be breastfed.  I think the world would be a lot less squeamish of BF’ing.  Before I get jumped on, let me clarify.  I would love to see every baby breastfed, but that’s a perfect world.  We don’t live in a perfect world.  Sometimes BF’ing doesn’t work out or isn’t the best choice for a certain family, and that’s ok.  I would just love to see some of those extenuating circumstances reduced.  If women who went back to work quickly were encouraged to pump at work, maybe they wouldn’t have to switch to formula to keep up with their baby’s needs.  And maybe if more OBGYNs and pediatricians were better trained in BF’ing, new mothers would get better information and would have better luck.  But sometimes, it just doesn’t work.  Sometimes a mother’s milk just doesn’t come in, or a baby has a medical issue that makes BF’ing impossible.  I get that.

I just still find it a little sad that exposing breasts for sexual interests is not a big deal, but heaven forbid a woman do the natural thing a feed her baby.  I guess its just a touchy subject for me.

Leave a Reply

