A little early, but oh well…

September 7, 2010 at 7:04 pm (Deuce, Random rantings)

I’ve been thinking a lot about baby showers already.  I know it’s a little preemptive, but oh well.  I’m not a huge fan of relying on other people.  For one reason or another, things so often don’t work out the way they plan and I get frustrated.  More often than not, I just find it easier to take care of things myself.  For this and several other reasons, I’m really considering throwing my own baby shower this time.  Is that too weird?

I don’t want a traditional shower by any means.  Hubs and I have been discussing just having a big bbq/potluck kind of thing at our house.  Sort of just a celebration of the baby-to-be.  I don’t want it all about gifts and games or anything.  We really don’t need anything.  If Deuce is a boy, all we NEED is some cloth diapers.  If Deuce is a girl, all I need to add to that list is some clothes.  For newborn clothes, Junior just lived in the basic sleeper style one piece outfits.

I feel sort of weird wanting to host my own shower, but I love having people over and hosting parties.  I’d love for all of our friends and family to be welcome; couples, kids, coworkers, etc, rather than just an event for my female friends and relatives.  I don’t know.  Is it TOO weird?  I know it’s not traditional, but if you were invited to a “shower” like that, would you find it weird?  Would you be put off by it?

1 Comment

  1. Karina said,

    I don’t think it is weird at all. One of my best friends did that. She planned everything and had close friends and family help with the food. It turned out great because people didn’t feel pressured to bring a gift. You shouldn’t worry too much about other peoples opinions, do what you want!! (I say that, but I am the same as you!) Good luck and let me know if I can help at all

Leave a Reply

