Korean food

September 7, 2010 at 7:21 pm (Food)

Hubs is Korean.  When we first met, I wanted to learn to cook his favorite foods for him and I asked his sister to teach me.  I had a hard time picking the recipes up from her because she doesn’t measure everything and just tastes it to see if it’s “right”.  I don’t like a lot of the food, so it never tastes “good” to me.  Before Hubs’ birthday in January, he asked if I would try cooking him Korean food for his birthday.  I decided to give it a shot and found the most wonderful website.  Here’s a link.

It’s from Canada, so the measurements are metric, but it’s close enough to get a good idea of what you’re shooting for.  Everything I’ve made from her site has turned out great, so I thought I’d share a couple of our favorites.  A lot of Korean food is spicy, but the recipes I use aren’t since I’m a total spice weenie!

This noodle salad is super easy and always a big hit.  I make it for potlucks and other events now.

I LOVE this soup.  It’s always my favorite Korean dish to cook.  We like to add a touch of beef stock for extra flavor.  I also throw in some frozen potstickers and some starch noodles (the same kind from the recipe above) for the last 5-10 minutes of cooking.

Pan-Fried tofu in soy sauce (the second recipe on this page) is delicious.  It’s a little sweet, a little salty and lots of yummy!  I love the texture the tofu gets when it’s seared like this.

I’ve tried both of the first two recipes on this page.  My favorite is the second one, but the first is good too.  I think Hubs’ sister makes the steamed eggs just about every time she cooks a big Korean meal!

The first potato dish on this page is so good.  I look for excuses to make it now, especially since I always seem to have everything at home to make it.

There’s some others too, but these are my favs!  I hope you give some of them a shot.  Some of the ingredients you’ll only find in Asian markets, but if you don’t have one around, you can usually substitute for some other things.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

