Delicious Apple Cider

September 22, 2010 at 5:51 am (Food)

Earlier this week, we had a playdate at our house.  Now that the fall weather is setting in, I decided my house should smell like apple cider, so I made sure it did!  I threw everything in the slowcooker the night before and woke up to the most delicious smelling house.

  • 10-12 apples, quartered (I used granny smith and fuji, but use whatever you have on hand)
  • 1 orange, quartered
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 4 cinnamon sticks
  • 1 Tbsp whole cloves
  • Nutmeg (I wanted to put in a whole clove, but I didn’t have any, so I just threw in a bit of ground)

Throw everything in the slowcooker and add enough water to cover everything.  Set it on low, cover and let it go.  In the morning, mash the fruit with a spoon or a potato masher and cool everything for a while (just so it’s not too hot to handle).  Strain it once with a strainer and again with 2 layers of cheesecloth.  Cool it or drink it warm; either way, it’s fabulous!  I ended up with a ton more than we would drink in a short while, so I divided it up and froze some.  I have a feeling this will be going on the stove quite often this fall.

If you’ve got an excess of apples on your trees this year, quarter and freeze them.  There’s no need to core or seed them since it all gets strained.  Then, as you’re ready for cider, just throw the frozen apples in the slowcooker.  Let it do the work!

Leave a Reply

