TLC’s Sister Wives

September 22, 2010 at 5:26 pm (Uncategorized)

I was recently part of an online discussion about this new show that’s been publicized quite a bit recently.  It’s called “Sister Wives” and will be on TLC.  The show follows the real lives of a family with three wives.  The man married all three wives before any of them had children so all of the kids have been raised with these multiple marriages from the beginning.  I believe the family is expecting their 13th child.  The man on the show has stated that he decided to do the show to go public, that he’s tired of hiding his lifestyle from the world.

The discussion we had surprised me a little bit.  I know I’m not very traditional, but I was surprised how many of the women were shocked that TLC would even air this show and how many women are refusing to watch it.  I enjoy watching shows that film real families living lifestyles I’m not used to or wouldn’t participate in.  I am no more interested in being part of a plural marriage than I am in having 19 kids, but I will be watching both shows this season.

In general, I’m a “to each their own” kind of person.  As long as everybody in the family is thriving and the decisions of the parents aren’t harming any of the children, I don’t think it’s my place to impose my views of families on those people.  I do not agree with the polygamist sects that force teen girls to marry and ostracize young men.  From what I’ve seen, the family on this show doesn’t seem to be any part of those things.  These women supposedly willingly entered into this relationship.  The kids seem happy.  If they’ve found a way to have a happy, supportive, cooperative household, who am I to say they shouldn’t be allowed to do it?

Here’s the other thing that I always wonder about this.  If it’s illegal for a man to “marry” two or more wives (although the later marriages are not recognized my the government), why is it not illegal for a man to father a child with a mistress?  If my husband were to cheat on me and father another child, he wouldn’t face arrest.  The other woman could still seek him out for child support.  Why should people who choose this lifestyle be reduced to hiding?

I’m really looking forward to watching this show and seeing the response to it.  I think it will bring up some interesting debates.

Leave a Reply

