Have you tried these?

October 24, 2010 at 10:51 pm (Uncategorized)

I’ve been doing a lot of diaper research for Deuce.  I’m determined to get this baby in cloth, but budget is certainly a concern.  It looks like prefolds and covers will be our best option and I’m getting a little overwhelmed at all the options; Chinese or Indian, how many, what sizes, etc.  One big question I have is about size.  Junior was 8lbs6oz at birth and grew really quickly.  If this baby is the same way, should I even bother with the newborn sizes for under 10lbs?  Would it be a big deal if I just skipped them?

All these questions led me to a new product that I’m really interested in trying.

Cotton Babies, the makers of bumGenius, have put out a new product called Econobum.  Being a frugal mom, even the name appeals to me.  The big question though, do they really work?  If they work like the website claims, this is a one size system that comes with everything you need.  For under $50, you get 12 prefolds made just for this system and three covers.  If you’re willing to do laundry every night, one set should cover it.  If I went with this system, I think I’d need 2-3 to keep from doing laundry daily.

It seems too good to be true.  $150 to diaper Deuce from birth to potty.  On top of that, easy, as in easy enough for Hubs to not argue with.  I haven’t really seen a lot of reviews out there and most of the hardcore cloth mommas I know haven’t tried them, so maybe it’d just for the novice cloth families.

I dunno, maybe $50 of the cloth diaper fund could go for some Econobums and we’ll see how it goes.  If they’re awesome, I have a feeling I know what people are going to start getting for baby showers!

Have you tried Econobum?  What did you think of them?

Leave a Reply

