Rich, Creamy, Fabulous Oatmeal!

February 26, 2011 at 7:21 pm (Food)

I’m not a huge oatmeal fan, but I decided since it’s good for breastmilk production, I’d give it another go.  I’m hooked!  The amount I made was enough for me and Junior, or just myself if I was SUPER hungry.

  • 2 TBSP Butter
  • 1/3 cup Brown Sugar (I used 1/2 cup and it’s a little too sweet.  I think 1/3 cup would be better)
  • 1 3/4 cup Milk  (I would imagine soy, rice or almond milk would work too, but it may not end up as rich)
  • 1 cup Quick Cooking Oats
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • Dash of Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup Dried Fruit (I used cranberries, but raisins or other dried fruit would be lovely too) or try it with fresh fruit too!

In a medium pot, melt butter over medium heat.  Add brown sugar, milk and oats.  Continue cooking over medium heat, stirring frequently, for about 5 minutes.  Stir in remaining ingredients.  Remove from heat.  Let sit for a couple of minutes and enjoy!

2 Comments

  1. P said,

    That sounds yummy! Do you have any ideas on how I could convert this to work with rolled oats?

    • Mom said,

      You know, I can’t say for sure, but I think I may have to give it a shot!

Leave a Reply

