Quick couscous dinner

March 11, 2011 at 5:02 am (Food)

We had a big wind storm here today that caused our power to go out for about 2 hours this afternoon.  Go figure, it came right back on at dinner time, so I had to whip something up pretty quickly.  Even Junior liked it, so I think this one is going to pop up again once in a while.

  • 2 tsp oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 1/2 smoked turkey sausage (14 oz size), diced
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 cup couscous
  • 1.5 cups vegetable or chicken stock (or water if you’re in a pinch)

Heat oil in a large saute pan, add veggies, sausage and oregano.  Stir frequently until onions soften.  Add couscous and stock.  Bring to a boil.  Remove from heat, cover.  Let sit 5 minutes.  Uncover and fluff with a fork.  Tada!  That’s it!

~~~~~~~~

Let me share a couple of my kitchen staples.

I love having a big thing of couscous in the cupboard like the original couscous here from RiceSelect.  It’s great in soups, makes an awesome side dish, and best of all, it cooks really fast!

I don’t buy broth anymore.  This is what I keep in my fridge.  They’re amazing.  Not only do they taste so much better than the salty broths, they’re way cheaper too.  Each of these Better Than Bouillon jars costs around $5 and make more than 9 quarts of stock.  Just one quart of stock from the grocery store costs at least $2.  I always have a couple varieties of these in my fridge at any given time.

And no, I have no affiliation with either of these companies.  I simply love their products.

 

Leave a Reply

