Some of my greatest friends I’ve never met

April 7, 2011 at 5:41 am (Random rantings)

This sounds cheesy and rightfully so.  I have some great friends that I only know through the internet.  I’ve never heard their voices, never shaken their hands, never stood beside them and honestly, will likely never meet.  When I got pregnant with Junior, very few of my friends had kids, my parents weren’t super supportive and I didn’t have a lot of people to talk to about pregnancy.  I found justmommies.com; it’s not only a website about moms, it’s a forum for women.  Pregnant, TTC’ing, parenting, whatever.  I joined up with a group called a Due Date Club.  These women were all expecting babies in Jan ’08.  Together we shared our fears and hopes.  We rallied around women who lost babies to miscarriage.  We made gender guesses for each other as we neared the big ultrasounds.  We did the best we could to support the moms of preemies as they waited for their babies to come home.  We cheered each other on as we each had our babies.

In the months that followed, there were lots of midnight posts about colicky babies, low breastmilk supply, exhaustion, and husband who just didn’t get it.  There were also lots of threads of smiling babies and a million firsts; first coo, first roll, first time sitting up alone, etc.  A lot of people don’t get the bond I feel with these women.  When something happens, I know I can vent to them, ask them for advice, then ask them again when I didn’t listen the first time.  Different women each bring their own piece to our little puzzle.  One women is sort of the matriarch of our group; a little older and a lot wiser than most of us.  She’s level headed the way I strive to be.  Another woman is driven in a way I admire so much.  We’re both dreaming of owning our own homes and she’s so much more focused than I am in making it happen.  There’s a woman who has been through more than I can imagine in her young life and yet she’s not bitter, she’s not an angry person; she’s an amazing mom.  I want to appreciate and enjoy my kids like she does.  I admire so many of these women for so many different things.

Hubs and I hit a rough financial patch before Deuce was born.  A woman from this group offered me some cloth diapers she had.  She could have sold them and made a few bucks on them, but she didn’t.   When I begged for advice on how to deal with a clingy baby, another woman mailed me a sling to carry him in.  I’ve never laid eyes on these ladies except through a computer screen and yet they were so willing to hand me anything I needed.  I’m in awe.  Who would have thought that friendships like this could be forged through a keyboard?

Those of you from this group, you know who you are.  All of you.  Thank you.  From the bottom of my heart, thank you.

3 Comments

  1. Lola said,

    I am really choking back the tears as I read this. I am so proud of the mom you are! You are a fantastic Woman, Wife, Mom, Daughter, Sister, Friend! I am so blessed to have you and your family in my life 🙂 And I’m so happy you could find a group of women to help in your greatest time of life, being a mother.. You are definitely doing a wonderful job. You look so happy it shows, you are so made for this. XOXO

    • Mom said,

      Aww! Thank you! I truly appreciate you so much!

  2. Shel said,

    We love you too. ❤

Leave a Reply

