Day 3

September 14, 2012 at 5:09 am (Food) (, , )

I was so excited for tonight’s dinner, we got distracted. My sister in law called and invited the kids and I over for dinner and blackberry picking. Hubs works very early in the morning, so he stayed home since we’re always late getting back after playing there. Typical for me, I took over in the kitchen while she played outside in the September evening sun. I rummaged through her cabinets and whipped up some spaghetti sauce. It was a quick combo of onions, carrots, zucchini, corn, and lean ground pork. Not quite as healthy as I was shooting for, but it sure was tasty. I tried to eat more sauce than pasta and I ate a side of broccoli too. I keep reminding myself that it’s not a diet, it’s about making better choices. I think I did ok with what was in front of me.

I was planning to make some black bean quinoa burgers for dinner at home. Now I probably won’t get to them until Saturday. Tomorrow is a huge cheat day. I probably shouldn’t even admit this, but tomorrow is the day my best friend and I have called “the day of gluttony” for years. We go the the fair together every year and gorge ourselves on everything that we won’t touch again for another year. I’m giving myself a free pass for tomorrow. I hope you’ll understand!

Leave a Reply

